top of page
Search
  • UHS Staff

Serial Planter



Growing up, I was always surrounded by plants. My mom had a lemon tree, various kind of chiles, she had sugar cane, nopales, roses, and much more! My favorite plants from her garden were the beautiful roses she had. Some where pink, red, and white. My favorite thing was taking flowers to my teachers all throughout elementary, middle, and high school. This was my way of showing my appreciation and thanks to the educators that taught me and cared for me.


Several years later, when I was in college, I began to have succulents here and there. But oh my! They would die not too long after. Fast forward to graduate school a couple years later, I started to have succulents in my home once again. However, just like college, they died. But why? You see... succulents can be easy to take care of and difficult at the same time. You must know what specific kind of succulent you have in order to nourish it well. I disregarded this since “all succulents are the same.” While I transitioned out as a grad student to full time staff, my mentor continued to check in on me since I told her I wanted to start my own garden. Well I never did. Well, not until now that is.


I started living at CPP the last week of September 2019. I did not bring any of my plants I had prior of coming here (left them to my mentor) and felt like there was a void. However, that void was quickly filled because of the Farm Store! I started off with a Snake and ZZ plant and my collection grew once more. Gardening/plants has been the only hobby that I’ve continued with and that makes me happy. Which gets me to where I am now.

I started to learn about propagating plants the beginning of last year but specifically with succulents. Now, I have spearmint, celery, onions, aloe vera, tomatoes, golden pothos, and a marble queen pothos that I am propagating. I’ve tried with a butter lettuce but that was a fail. Other than this, I also bought some red rubin purple basil, dwarf rosemary, and white horehound so I can start a small herb garden. Taking care of plants have helped me get through this difficult time. Being out on my balcony when the sun is out is something I love to do because I also get to hang out with my plant babies. If you ever want to talk plants, let me know!


- Brenda M., Area Coordinator

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page