top of page
Search
  • UHS Staff

Faculty In Residence Notes #3: Dr. Stovall

We are thankful to have three Faculty In Residence living on campus and supporting our students! While we are remote, we will be uploading blog posts from them to this site.


Behind the Screens with a Cal Poly Pomona Professor



Screen shot, Blackboard and class preparation tabs, April 2020. 

Hi everyone! My name is Dr. Maya Stovall, and I’m one of your Faculty in Residence here at CPP. I hope that you and your families and friends are well during this difficult time. 

You might be wondering what professors think about college life right now, with all that is going on. Meaning, will the show just go on, and, is college life just business as usual?

I think the only answer we can have during these times, is that while college life continues, we cannot pretend that conditions are in any way business as usual. We are working hard to deliver a high-quality education, while equally important, to support you during this time.

These days, what’s on my mind when it comes to students? I imagine students Zooming into four or more classes every week, handling responsibilities related to work, financial obligations, family and more, and trying to keep a positive outlook, and stay healthy, during the COVID-19 crisis.  

To address this, I have modified my syllabi to support student success while maintaining student learning outcomes, and I’m working to keep a dialogue going with students as to what they need to acquire all the tools they need, while balancing the challenging circumstances. I still feel like I should know more than I do about what students need. 

I really want to know—what do students need during this time? What do you need to feel better, to learn more, and to move forward during this time? How can professors help support you more? 

Along with the arts integration and research methods material I’m teaching this term, these questions ring across my consciousness as I prepare classes. 

Please, share your concerns, thoughts, and ideas with trusted faculty and staff. We care and we want to help. As we move through this challenging moment, please know that you are not alone! Please reach out to University resources like CAPS for support, too. 

Cheers to the final push of the semester!!

Maya Stovall, Ph.D. 

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page